Kosher marshmallows
Marshmallows have a kosher problem that candy corn and chocolate bars do not: the gelatin that gives them their spring is an animal product, and most US bags never name the animal or the supervising agency. A handful of brands solve it, either with a certified, gelatin-free recipe or a certified gelatin source, and everyone else stays silent. Here is which marshmallow brands carry a kosher certification we could verify today, which are marketed as kosher without a confirmed mark, and which use gelatin with no kosher claim at all.
Are Jet-Puffed marshmallows kosher?
No, bagged Jet-Puffed marshmallows carry no kosher certification we could find. Kraft Heinz's kosher certificate, dated June 26, 2026 and valid to June 30, 2027, lists one Jet-Puffed product: Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Crème, certified pareve. The bagged regular and mini marshmallows are not on it, and Kraft Heinz's Jet-Puffed brand pages give no gelatin source. The OU's database, searched on 2026-09-27, returns four Jet-Puffed records and all four are Fire Brands sodas, not the marshmallows. If you are holding the jar of Crème, look for the pareve symbol; if you are holding a bag, treat it as not kosher.
Are marshmallows kosher?
Marshmallows are kosher only when the bag carries a kosher certification mark, because the gelatin source decides it. Gelatin is an animal product that needs its own kosher supervision, and pork gelatin is never kosher. Gelatin-free marshmallows such as Dandies and Trader Joe's Mini Marshmallows, both cRc Pareve, are the brands we could confirm.
Are Peeps kosher?
No, Peeps are not kosher. Just Born's own FAQ states, "Our PEEPS Marshmallow Candies are not kosher," even though the same FAQ confirms its jelly bean and chewy candy lines are kosher and pareve.
Lists go stale. Scan the bag in your hand.
A manufacturer can change a recipe, switch a certifier or launch a new SKU at any time, and the printed label updates before any article does. Treat this page as a starting point checked on one date, not a permanent verdict. Scan the barcode in PlatePal for a live read on the exact bag in front of you.
Kosher marshmallow brands: certified, marketed or not found
We checked nine brand names against their own sites, Open Food Facts and the retailers that sell them, on 2026-09-24. Two carry a certifier we could confirm on the package label. Others are marketed as kosher without a mark we could read, have no current marshmallow product at all, or state outright that their standard recipe is not kosher. The cRc's own product database did not return a readable result for us on earlier checks, but its letter of certification database opened in a browser on 2026-09-27 and lists Dandies directly, as cRc company 209 under Chicago Vegan Foods, alongside Trader Joe's at company numbers 115041 and 115608. So the certifier's own records now back the package labels transcribed on Open Food Facts. Confirm the printed cRc mark on the bag you buy.
| Brand | Status | Certifier | Pareve / Dairy | Gelatin | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dandies Vegan Marshmallows | Certified | cRc (Chicago Rabbinical Council) | Pareve | None: gelled with carrageenan | Now confirmed at the certifier. The cRc's own letter of certification database, searched in a browser on 2026-09-27, lists "Dandies (Brand, Company: Chicago Vegan Foods)" as cRc company 209 with a downloadable letter of kosher certification. Open Food Facts separately records the Maple Flavoured SKU's package label as "No gluten, Vegan, cRc Pareve." There is no OU listing, which is expected: the certifier here is the cRc. Check the printed cRc mark on your bag. |
| Trader Joe's Mini Marshmallows | Certified | cRc (Chicago Rabbinical Council) | Pareve | None: gelled with carrageenan | Open Food Facts records this package's own label as "No gluten, Vegan, cRc Pareve." Same gelatin-free recipe pattern as Dandies: tapioca syrup, cane sugar, tapioca starch, carrageenan and soy protein. The cRc's own database, searched on 2026-09-27, lists Trader Joe's as a certified company, numbers 115041 and 115608, without naming products at that level. Trader Joe's also runs a large OU program, more than 400 listings, but no marshmallow appears in it, so the cRc mark on the bag is the one to read. |
| Paskesz Marshmallows | Insufficient Data | Not shown on Paskesz's own product pages | Not stated on the pages we could read | Not disclosed. Kosher confectionery commonly uses fish gelatin, but we could not confirm that this specific product does | Sold nationally under the name "Kosher Marshmallows" (Amazon, H-E-B, Safeway), but the OU does not list it. Searched in a browser on 2026-09-27, the OU's database holds 59 Paskesz Candy products, all OU-P pareve, covering snacks, cereals and pasta, and no marshmallow among them. So Paskesz is genuinely an OU-certified company whose marshmallow is not in the OU program. Another agency may cover it; we could not read a hechsher or ingredient panel on Paskesz's own pages. Read the mark on your bag. |
| Elyon (Kayco) | Insufficient Data | No current product | n/a | n/a | Kayco's own Elyon brand page lists no marshmallow product today. Elyon is a kosher confectionery brand, sometimes cited alongside Paskesz for fish-gelatin candy, but it currently has nothing in this category to check. |
| Manischewitz (Kayco) | Insufficient Data | No current product | n/a | n/a | Kayco's Manischewitz brand page lists matzo, soup, noodles and cookies. No marshmallow product appears among them. |
| Lieber's | Insufficient Data | Not confirmed | n/a | n/a | We could not locate a current Lieber's-branded marshmallow product on a site we could reach. If you have one on your shelf, the printed hechsher on that specific bag is the answer, not a brand name on a list. |
| Peeps (Just Born) | Concerns | None: Just Born states Peeps are not kosher | Not certified | Gelatin listed, source not disclosed | Just Born's own FAQ says plainly: "Our PEEPS Marshmallow Candies are not kosher," even though the same FAQ confirms its jelly bean and chewy candy lines are kosher and pareve. Open Food Facts records the Peeps ingredient list as sugar, corn syrup and gelatin, with no animal source named. The most searched marshmallow candy in the US is the one brand here that rules itself out in writing. |
| Campfire | Concerns | None stated | Not certified | Porcine (pork), standard recipe | Campfire's own FAQ states its regular marshmallows "are made with porcine gelatin," and reserves beef gelatin only for a recipe exported to Middle East markets. No kosher claim appears anywhere on the page. |
| Kraft Jet-Puffed | Concerns | None found | Not certified | Not disclosed | Bagged marshmallows only. Kraft Heinz's kosher certificate (June 2026) covers just one Jet-Puffed product, Marshmallow Crème, at pareve; the bagged marshmallows are not on it, and the brand pages carry no gelatin source, kosher claim or halal claim. The OU's database, searched on 2026-09-27, returns four Jet-Puffed records and all four are Fire Brands sodas, Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Root Beer and Marshmallow Soda at OU pareve, a licensed flavor on a drink rather than the marshmallows. Treat an undisclosed gelatin source as a non-kosher default rather than assume the best case. |
If you want a marshmallow the Orthodox Union itself certifies, the same search on 2026-09-27 turns up several that none of the mass-market brands above can match: Oneg Marshmallows Fluffy and Marshmallows Vanilla at OU-P pareve, Haddar Marshmallow Twists at OU-P, Shufra Marshmallow at plain OU pareve, deeBest Teeny Marshmallow and the deeBest coated marshmallow range at OU pareve, and Carmit Toasted Coconut Marshmallows from Israel at OU-P. The OU-P mark means the symbol is required on the pack and the product is kosher for Passover only when it carries the special Passover certification, so read the bag rather than the brand.
The same gelatin-source question runs through non-kosher marshmallows too; see do marshmallows contain pork for the brand-by-brand breakdown of which US bags default to porcine gelatin and why the wrapper almost never says so.
Pareve vs dairy, and why fish gelatin is the traditional workaround
Pareve means a food contains neither meat nor dairy, so it can be eaten alongside either. A plain marshmallow recipe has no milk ingredient, which is why a kosher marshmallow is almost always pareve rather than dairy; the real kashrus question is the gelatin, not the sugar and starch around it. Fish, unlike cattle or pigs, does not need ritual slaughter under Jewish law, which is why fish gelatin has traditionally been an easier route to a kosher gummy or marshmallow than beef gelatin, which still needs its own certified, shechita-compliant supply chain, or pork gelatin, which is never kosher under any circumstances. The two brands we could actually confirm today, Dandies and Trader Joe's Mini Marshmallows, sidestep the question entirely: both are cRc Pareve using carrageenan, a seaweed-derived gelling agent, instead of any animal gelatin. For the same gelatin-source logic applied to halal status instead of kosher, see is gelatin halal.
Kosher for Passover is a separate mark
A marshmallow certified kosher all year is not automatically kosher for Passover. The OU's own glossary defines Kosher L'Pesach, kosher for Passover, as a stricter standard: continuous rabbinic supervision plus freedom from leaven and legumes, narrower than ordinary certification. Many mainstream marshmallow recipes use corn syrup, and Ashkenazi custom generally treats corn and other legume-family derivatives as kitniyot, avoided on Passover even though they are kosher the rest of the year. Dandies and Trader Joe's use tapioca syrup rather than corn syrup, which sidesteps that specific ingredient, but neither brand's page states a Passover certification, so do not assume either bag belongs on a Pesach table without a printed Passover mark on the package you actually have. The same certified-year-round-but-not-for-Passover pattern shows up across candy generally; see the kosher candy list for more on how the OU treats Passover separately from ordinary kosher status.
Frequently asked questions
Are marshmallows kosher?
Most standard US marshmallows are not kosher by default. Gelatin is the ingredient that gives them their spring, and gelatin needs its own kosher supervision because it is an animal product. Campfire's own FAQ confirms its regular US recipe uses porcine gelatin, which is never kosher, Just Born says outright that its Peeps Marshmallow Candies are not kosher, and Kraft's Jet-Puffed brand states no gelatin source at all. A short list of brands solve this, either with a certified gelatin-free recipe or a certified gelatin source, and this page names the ones we could verify.
What is a pareve marshmallow?
Pareve means a food contains neither meat nor dairy, so it can be eaten alongside either. A marshmallow with no milk ingredient and a kosher-certified gelatin source, or no gelatin at all, can be pareve. Dandies and Trader Joe's Mini Marshmallows are both recorded on Open Food Facts as cRc Pareve, using carrageenan instead of gelatin.
Which marshmallow brands are kosher certified?
Of the mass-market names, Dandies and Trader Joe's Mini Marshmallows are the two with a confirmed certifier: cRc, the Chicago Rabbinical Council, shown as "cRc Pareve" on the package label recorded in Open Food Facts and now backed by the cRc's own certification database, which lists Dandies as cRc company 209 under Chicago Vegan Foods. Both use a gelatin-free, carrageenan-based recipe rather than a certified animal gelatin. If you want an Orthodox Union mark instead, the OU's own database on 2026-09-27 lists Oneg Marshmallows Fluffy and Vanilla at OU-P, Haddar Marshmallow Twists at OU-P, Shufra Marshmallow at OU pareve and the deeBest marshmallow range at OU pareve. Paskesz markets itself as kosher and is an OU-certified company for 59 other products, but its marshmallow is not among them, so check your bag directly. Peeps goes the other way: Just Born's own FAQ states its Peeps Marshmallow Candies are not kosher.
Are Paskesz marshmallows kosher?
Not under the OU, and we could not confirm another agency. Searched in a browser on 2026-09-27, the Orthodox Union's own database holds 59 Paskesz Candy products from Brooklyn, New York, every one of them OU-P pareve, spanning snack rings, cereals, noodles and mandel. No marshmallow appears among them. That is the awkward result: Paskesz is a real OU-certified company whose marshmallow is not in the OU program. The brand is still sold widely as "Kosher Marshmallows" by Amazon, H-E-B and Safeway, and a different agency may well certify it, but we could not read a certifier or an ingredient panel on Paskesz's own product pages. Kosher confectionery commonly uses fish gelatin, which sidesteps the pork and beef slaughter questions, but that is a pattern rather than a confirmed fact about this product. Look for the printed hechsher on your bag.
Are Campfire or Jet-Puffed marshmallows kosher?
No, not by default. Campfire's own FAQ states its standard US recipe uses porcine gelatin, which rules out kosher status outright, and names no certifier even for the beef-gelatin recipe it exports to Middle East markets. Kraft's Jet-Puffed brand pages state no gelatin source and carry no kosher claim at all, and the OU's own database has no Jet-Puffed marshmallow: searched on 2026-09-27 it returns only Fire Brands' Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Root Beer and Marshmallow Soda at OU pareve, which are licensed drinks, not the bag of marshmallows. Neither brand is a safe assumption for a kosher kitchen.
Are kosher marshmallows automatically kosher for Passover?
No. Kosher certification and Kosher L'Pesach, kosher for Passover, are different standards; the OU's own glossary defines Passover certification as continuous rabbinic supervision plus freedom from leaven and legumes, stricter than year-round certification. Many marshmallow recipes, including corn-syrup-based ones, use ingredients that Ashkenazi custom treats as kitniyot and avoids on Passover even though they are kosher the rest of the year. A marshmallow needs its own Passover mark, usually printed only on seasonal packaging, before you can assume it belongs on a Pesach table.
Why does fish gelatin come up so often with kosher candy?
Because fish, unlike cattle or pigs, does not need ritual slaughter under Jewish law, so gelatin from a kosher fish species has traditionally been an easier route to a kosher gummy or marshmallow than beef gelatin, which needs its own certified, shechita-compliant supply chain, or pork gelatin, which is never kosher. That said, a brand name or a category reputation is not the same as a confirmed ingredient. None of the marshmallow brands we checked today disclosed fish gelatin specifically, so this page treats it as a known pattern in the category, not a fact about any one bag.
What this page is not
Allergens. PlatePal screens ingredient data, so this page is information and not medical advice. A recipe can change before the data does, and shared equipment never appears in an ingredient list. Always read the label on the package in your hand, and follow your allergist or doctor over any app.
Religious status. A screening result is not a religious ruling. Certifiers and schools of thought differ, and PlatePal does not rank them. For anything you hold yourself strictly to, ask a qualified authority or the certifier you already follow.
Data checked on 2026-09-24. Formulations change; verify your package.
See also do marshmallows contain pork for the halal side of the same gelatin question, and the kosher candy list for OU-certified candy checked the same way. For your own bag, use the kosher food scanner or the halal food checker, which checks kosher status in the same scan.
Sources
- Kraft Heinz kosher certificate KC#10798698-1 (June 26, 2026, valid to June 30, 2027): lists only Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Crème, pareve; verify K-ID FZZ-RKKL at digitalkosher.com Checked 2026-10-18.
- Open Food Facts: Dandies Maple Flavoured Vegan Marshmallows, labeled cRc Pareve Checked 2026-09-24.
- Open Food Facts: Dandies Vanilla Flavored Mini Vegan Marshmallows, labeled Kosher Checked 2026-09-24.
- Open Food Facts: Trader Joe's Mini Marshmallows, labeled cRc Pareve Checked 2026-09-24.
- Dandies (Chicago Vegan Foods): homepage, vegan and kosher marketing copy (dandies.com) Checked 2026-09-24.
- Dandies: products page (dandies.com/products) Checked 2026-09-24.
- Paskesz: Marshmallows Flavored product page, no hechsher or ingredient panel readable (paskesz.com) Checked 2026-09-24.
- Paskesz Marshmallows, sold as "Kosher Marshmallows" (Amazon) Checked 2026-09-24.
- Kayco: Elyon brand page, no products currently listed Checked 2026-09-24.
- Kayco: Manischewitz brand page, no marshmallow product listed Checked 2026-09-24.
- Campfire Marshmallows: Frequently Asked Questions, porcine gelatin statement, no kosher claim (campfiremarshmallows.com) Checked 2026-09-24.
- Just Born: FAQs, "Our PEEPS Marshmallow Candies are not kosher" and the kosher status of its other brands (justborn.com) Checked 2026-09-27.
- Open Food Facts: Peeps Pink Marshmallow Chicks, ingredients including gelatin Checked 2026-09-27.
- Kraft Heinz: Jet-Puffed brand page, no gelatin source or kosher claim (kraftheinz.com) Checked 2026-09-24.
- cRc Kosher: letter of certification database, Dandies listed as cRc company 209 under Chicago Vegan Foods, and Trader Joe's as companies 115041 and 115608 (ezcrc.org) Checked 2026-09-27.
- OU Kosher product search: Paskesz, 59 OU-P pareve listings under Paskesz Candy and no marshmallow among them Checked 2026-09-27.
- OU Kosher product search: Dandies, no OU listing found (the brand is certified by the cRc instead) Checked 2026-09-27.
- OU Kosher product search: Jet-Puffed, four listings and all four are Fire Brands sodas at OU pareve, not the marshmallows Checked 2026-09-27.
- OU Kosher product search: marshmallow, showing the OU-certified marshmallows including Oneg at OU-P, Haddar Marshmallow Twists at OU-P and Shufra Marshmallow at OU pareve Checked 2026-09-27.
- OU Kosher: certification terms glossary, Kosher L'Pesach definition (oukosher.org) Checked 2026-09-12.