Are Skittles halal?
No, Skittles sold in the US do not have gelatin: the current ingredient list has none, and the company removed it from the standard recipe around 2009. There is no carmine in today's list either, and no halal certification mark on the bag, but the OU now certifies Skittles kosher pareve. Here is the label, the history, and what changed.
Likely OKSkittles Original, US single pack, barcode 022000288431
Yes, Skittles Original sold in the US is halal: no gelatin and no carmine in the current recipe, though it carries no halal certification, and it is separately certified kosher pareve.
- No gelatin, carmine or alcohol in the ingredient list pulled directly from skittles.com.
- Gelatin was removed from the standard recipe around 2009. Carmine does not appear in the current label at all.
- No halal certification mark on the US bag. Kosher is separately certified: the OU lists Skittles Originals and 55 other Skittles records as OU pareve, symbol required on the pack.
Data checked on 2026-09-12. Formulations change; verify your package.
Do Skittles have gelatin?
No, current US Skittles do not contain gelatin. The ingredient list we pulled from skittles.com on 2026-09-12 reads sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, citric acid, tapioca dextrin, modified corn starch, flavors, colors, sodium citrate and carnauba wax, with nothing from pork or beef. Skittles did use gelatin until a recipe change that a Wrigley representative told the Vegetarian Resource Group happened in early 2009, which the company confirmed in December 2010. Skittles sold outside the US, including the UK, can differ in recipe and labeling, so check the ingredient list on the pack you are holding.
Do Skittles have carmine?
No, carmine (the cochineal insect colorant, E120) does not appear in the current US or UK ingredient lists we checked. We could not confirm a dated US removal from a primary source, but today's label shows no carmine, cochineal or insect derived color.
Are Skittles vegan?
Likely yes, but not certified: the current ingredient list has no dairy, gelatin, carmine or other declared animal ingredient. Mars prints no vegan claim on the bag, and a strict vegan diet may also ask whether the sugar was refined with bone char, which a label does not state.
The evidence: what is in a Skittles Original bag today
The current US ingredient list, read directly from skittles.com, is: sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, and less than 2 percent of citric acid, tapioca dextrin, modified corn starch, natural and artificial flavors, colors (red 40 lake, yellow 5 lake, blue 2 lake, yellow 6 lake, blue 1 lake, yellow 6, red 40, yellow 5, blue 1), sodium citrate, and carnauba wax. Nothing on that list is pork, gelatin, carmine, or alcohol derived. Hydrogenated palm kernel oil and carnauba wax, a glaze from the carnauba palm, are both plant sourced. The page itself notes Skittles is mid update on its printed packaging, so a bag on a shelf right now could still show an older ingredient list while the website reflects the newest formula, which is worth remembering before you treat any single ingredient panel as final.
Two ingredients used to be the whole story here. Gelatin, an animal derived setting agent covered in full on is gelatin halal, was removed from the standard Skittles recipe around 2009, per a Wrigley representative's statement to the Vegetarian Resource Group, later confirmed by the company. Carmine, the cochineal insect based red colorant covered on is carmine halal and what is E120, is absent from today's ingredient list. Some sources tie a 2015 carmine removal specifically to the UK product; we could not confirm a dated, primary sourced US removal, but the current label answers the question either way: no carmine in today's recipe, in either market. Starburst, another Mars Wrigley candy that has faced its own gelatin questions, gets the same flavor by flavor check on are Starburst halal. Swedish Fish clears the same gelatin question a different way, using modified corn starch for its chew instead, covered on is Swedish Fish halal.
Kosher status: certified OU pareve, and the code rule has lapsed
Most sites round this to a flat yes or no, and for a while neither was right. The Orthodox Union began certifying Skittles from Mars's Waco, Texas plant as kosher pareve in early 2025, and its August 2025 advisory said that "some Skittles are certified kosher pareve even when not bearing the OU symbol, others are not," so shoppers had to read an ink jet production code instead: YRV, or WAC paired with a best by date of June 2026 or later.
That transitional rule no longer shows in the certifier's own records. We searched the OU's product database in a browser on 2026-09-27 and it returns 56 Skittles listings under Mars Wrigley Confectionery, all Pareve with the plain OU symbol: Originals, Sours, Tropical, Wildberry, Littles, Shriekers, Smoothies, Freeze-Dried and the flavor mash-ups. The Originals record dates certification to January 2025. Every single one now carries the same unconditional status, "Symbol required. Not Kosher for Passover," with no plant, code or best by qualifier attached. So the printed OU symbol is now the test, which is simpler than the code rule it replaced. Skittles drink mixes and freezer pops made by Jel Sert, and the Skittles flavored drinks from Fire Brands, are listed OU pareve too. M&M's, also made by Mars, is certified OU-D dairy rather than pareve and has a carmine question that differs between the US and UK; see are M&M's halal.
Palm oil, flavors and what the label leaves open
Hydrogenated palm kernel oil is declared directly as an ingredient, not tucked behind a "may contain" line, and it is plant derived, so it does not raise a halal or vegan objection on its own. "Natural and artificial flavors" is the one line on the label that a strict reading cannot fully resolve: the source of a flavor compound is rarely disclosed further than that phrase, on this or almost any packaged candy. See the E number checker for how to read flavor and color codes on a candy label more generally.
Allergens: nothing named, but no formal statement found
None of the 9 major US allergens, milk, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans or sesame, appear as a named ingredient in the current Skittles Original recipe. We could not find a manufacturer cross-contact or "may contain" statement on the current skittles.com product page to confirm shared-line risk one way or the other, so PlatePal treats the allergen picture as likely OK rather than allergen free. Always read the actual bag in your hand, since a printed statement there would override anything summarized here.
Stacked verdict: halal, kosher, vegan and allergens
A product can clear one requirement and still leave another unresolved. Skittles is a clean example: the ingredients read as halal suitable and vegan friendly with no halal certification, while the kosher answer is a certified OU pareve.
| Profile | Verdict | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Halal | Likely OK | No gelatin, carmine or alcohol in the current US ingredient list. Nothing on the label is haram, but the bag carries no halal certification mark. |
| Kosher | Certified | Certified OU pareve, and the transitional condition is gone. The OU's own product database, searched in a browser on 2026-09-27, returns 56 Skittles records under Mars Wrigley Confectionery, including Skittles Originals, Sours, Tropical, Wildberry and the Littles and Freeze-Dried lines, all Pareve with the plain OU symbol. Every record now reads only "Symbol required. Not Kosher for Passover." The Waco plant code condition from the 2025 rollout no longer appears on any listing. Go by the printed OU symbol on your bag, since the listings require it. |
| Vegetarian | Likely OK | No gelatin and no other meat-derived ingredient in the current list. Hydrogenated palm kernel oil and carnauba wax are both plant-derived. |
| Vegan | Likely OK | No dairy, gelatin, carmine or other declared animal ingredient. Not certified vegan, and the ingredient label does not resolve every strict vegan question, such as whether the sugar was processed with bone char. |
| Allergens | Likely OK | None of the 9 major US allergens appear as a named ingredient. We could not find a manufacturer cross-contact or may contain statement on the current product page, so treat this as likely OK rather than allergen free. |
Frequently asked questions
Do Skittles have gelatin?
Not the current US formula. Skittles used gelatin until a recipe change that a Wrigley representative described to the Vegetarian Resource Group as happening in early 2009, confirmed by the company in December 2010. The ingredient list we pulled directly from skittles.com on 2026-09-12 has no gelatin: sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, citric acid, tapioca dextrin, modified corn starch, natural and artificial flavors, coloring, sodium citrate and carnauba wax.
Do Skittles have carmine?
No, not in the current US or UK label we checked. Carmine, the cochineal insect based red colorant also called E120, is absent from both ingredient lists. Some sources tie a 2015 carmine removal specifically to the UK product, and we could not confirm a separate, dated US removal from a primary source, but what the current label shows is settled either way: no carmine, cochineal or insect derived colorant in today's recipe.
Is Skittles halal or haram?
Neither word fits perfectly. Haram would mean the recipe contains something forbidden, and the current US ingredient list does not: no gelatin, no carmine, no alcohol. Halal usually implies certification, and the standard US bag carries no halal mark. The honest answer is that the ingredients are halal suitable, while certification is a separate question the bag itself does not answer.
Are Skittles kosher?
Yes, and as of 2026 you can simply look for the symbol. The Orthodox Union's own product database, searched in a browser on 2026-09-27, returns 56 Skittles listings under Mars Wrigley Confectionery, all Pareve with the plain OU symbol: Skittles Originals, Sours, Tropical, Wildberry, Littles, Shriekers, Smoothies, Freeze-Dried and the flavor mash-ups among them. The Originals record shows certification since January 2025. Every listing now carries the same plain status, "Symbol required. Not Kosher for Passover," with no plant or production code condition attached. That is a change from the 2025 rollout, when the OU advised that certification had to be read off an ink jet code because the symbol was still coming onto packaging. Now the symbol is the test: if your bag has the OU, it is certified kosher pareve. Pareve means no meat and no dairy, so Skittles can be eaten after either.
Are Skittles vegan?
The current US and UK ingredient lists have no dairy, gelatin, carmine or other declared animal ingredient, which is why Skittles are widely called vegan. Mars does not print a vegan claim on the bag, and a strict vegan diet also considers things a label does not state, such as whether the sugar was refined using bone char, so treat this as likely vegan rather than certified.
Does Skittles contain pork?
No pork or pork derived ingredient, such as gelatin, appears in the current US ingredient list. The main historical concern, gelatin, was removed from the standard recipe around 2009.
What is in Skittles now that used to be different?
Three changes matter for a diet or allergy read. Gelatin was removed around 2009. Carmine is absent from the current label, though we could not confirm an exact US removal date from a primary source. Titanium dioxide, a whitening agent some regulators have scrutinized, was removed from the US Skittles lineup by the end of 2024, which Mars Wrigley confirmed to press in May 2025. Mars has also announced optional dye free versions of Skittles Original arriving in 2026, alongside the standard recipe, not replacing it.
What this page is not
Allergens. PlatePal screens ingredient data, so this page is information and not medical advice. A recipe can change before the data does, and shared equipment never appears in an ingredient list. Always read the label on the package in your hand, and follow your allergist or doctor over any app.
Religious status. A screening result is not a religious ruling. Certifiers and schools of thought differ, and PlatePal does not rank them. For anything you hold yourself strictly to, ask a qualified authority or the certifier you already follow.
See also is gelatin halal, is carmine halal, and are Doritos halal for more US candy and snack shelves checked the same way. For your own bag, use the halal food checker or the halal food scanner in the app.
Sources
- Skittles: Original Fruity Candy product page and ingredient list (skittles.com) Checked 2026-09-12.
- Open Food Facts: Skittles Original, barcode 0022000288431 Checked 2026-09-12.
- Vegetarian Resource Group blog: new formulation, Skittles are gelatin free Checked 2026-09-12.
- OU Kosher product search: Skittles, 56 listings under Mars Wrigley Confectionery, all OU pareve with no plant or production code condition attached Checked 2026-09-27.
- OU Kosher: Mars Skittles now OU kosher certified Checked 2026-09-12.
- CrownHeights.info: OU Kosher clarifies kashrus status of Skittles in the US Checked 2026-09-12.
- Fox News: Skittles drops titanium dioxide from its US portfolio Checked 2026-09-12.
- Good Morning America: Mars Wrigley announces dye free Skittles and M&Ms for 2026 Checked 2026-09-12.